Girl School for Grownups

Like having a big sister, but better because I can't boss you around!

Taking Action

on October 28, 2014

Getting ready to get ready is how my husband likes to describe my approach to life. It’s said with kindness and there is evidence to support his statement. But I don’t want to live like that. It certainly isn’t life-giving to have all sorts of ideas that never come to fruition. And I want to move towards life, not away from it.

Taking action, just for today, means typing some words. Even if the words aren’t exactly right. Even if my mind tells me that what I say isn’t important. There’s some truth to both thoughts. Will the words ever be exactly right? Nope. Is what I say important? Well, I suppose the question to ask is “important to whom?” (Is the right word there “who?” And should that question mark be inside or outside the quotation marks? I honestly don’t know and those kinds of questions can be the ones that cause me to abandon typing altogether.)

So is what i say important? In many ways the answer is no. I am but one person among many, and there are millions of people who are more eloquent and knowledgable than I am. But as a writer, the answer is emphatically YES. What I say is important because in saying it I improve the quality of my life. That’s enough to continue. But even beyond that, there’s the possibility that what I say can reach another person. And that makes it important too.

If you are still reading, I would appreciate it if you would subscribe to this blog. I think there’s a way to subscribe via email on the site. If you subscribe you will be among the first to read about stuff like depression and makeup and recovery and building a house and life. And my promise to you is that I will continue to write. Because my words matter. And because taking action matters.

7 responses to “Taking Action

  1. Julia says:

    YES your words are important, it gives the voice to the the you that never used to talk. Speak away my friend, it’s empowering & validating. XOXOXOXO

  2. Margaret Gandy says:

    I love what you write – please keep it coming.

  3. sbprinter says:

    Your words are beautiful. It is your voice in print. And that is all that matters when
    singing.

  4. Jacqui says:

    I always love to hear what you have to say, Leslie. You are one of the only other people who feels EVERYTHING as deeply as I do. Writing helps’:)

  5. Carrie says:

    Nicely done friend…love you!

  6. 1happygrrl says:

    Super awesome blog! I love the title, the way it looks, the way you write, everything! I love you, elle!

  7. Amy says:

    Your words are important. Although you may never know how many lives you touch or how profoundly, just know that people ARE being touched and in more ways than you might even imagine possible. It doesn’t need to be perfect…just real and from the heart! Looking forward to the journey.

Leave a Reply

