Girl School for Grownups

Like having a big sister, but better because I can't boss you around!

An organization tip

on November 12, 2014

images

I am married to the world’s most organized man. And I am … well I am … creative. 🙂 This has been a source of tension in our relationship. To help diffuse that tension I’ve read nearly every book about getting and staying organized, and while I am not an expert, I am much better than I used to be.

Here’s an idea I use that’s helped me immensely. Designate a box or a crate (yes, it has to be a specific container) as a place where things that need attention go. This is where you’ll put the pants that need to be hemmed or fixed, and the Tupperware that needs to be returned to a friend and the items that need to be returned to the store. Having an assigned home for items like this means they’re much less likely to be lost and never dealt with.

If you want to be an advanced organizer, set an appointment once a month to deal with whatever’s in the box.

Blog housekeeping: it’s not too late to get an additional entry into my free stuff drawing this month. If you’re a subscriber, you’re already entered. To get an additional chance to win, share this blog on social media. I’ll be picking a winner next week.

3 responses to “An organization tip

  1. Amy says:

    Sometimes I over-organize and can’t find anything because I forgot where I organized it to begin with! Drives me crazy.

    • Leslie Gandy says:

      That is a quality problem, to be sure! Yeah, can’t say I’ve ever done that.I did threaten my family with a day of nudity so I could have all the laundry done and put away at the same time. Alas, I was unable to pull it off.

  2. Natalie says:

    Great idea! Except I am so bad, I could easily see me becoming like Mills (played by Brad Pitt) in the movie Se7en, crying out, “what’s in the box?”… You gotta help me Leslie! Tell me I’m not lost!

Leave a Reply

