Girl School for Grownups

Like having a big sister, but better because I can't boss you around!

Teacher training essentials

on March 9, 2015

So we’re 120 hours done with a 200 hour program and I can honestly say that I’m loving yoga teacher training. Do I love every minute of it? Hell no. Sadly, nobody (yogis included) has figured out a way to get past your own shit that doesn’t involve walking through your own shit. But to be in a safe place where growth is encouraged is a wonderful thing, even if it doesn’t always feel wonderful.

Before teacher training

  1. Have a regular yoga practice. You’re going to do a LOT of yoga in teacher training. And even if you do have a regular practice, teacher training will be physically exhausting. But coming into the program after almost two years of not practicing yoga was a huge challenge. I’m happy to say that my body is much stronger than it was when I started, and I’m reminded once again that YOGA WORKS!
  2. Have a regular meditation practice. There are days when we do 45 minutes of silent meditation. Do I love it? Nope. Am I feeling the benefits? Oh yes. I’m not suggesting that you need to be meditating for 45 minutes a day, but having any sort of regular sitting practice can make the longer meditations a little easier.
  3. Buy some yoga clothes. You don’t need expensive clothes, but you need a good amount of clothes. This is because you will practice yoga 3 to 4 times a day, and there’s nothing worse than practicing in already sweated in clothes. (Ok there are many things worse than this, including trying to put on yoga clothes after showering!)
  4. Have access to a washing machine. I’ve done laundry every single night after teacher training.

During teacher training

  1. Ibuprofen. I know it’s not best to take OTC pain relievers all the time, but for this 50-something girl, regular vitamin I has been essential to teacher training.
  2. Good deodorant. You’re going to sweat a lot. No deodorant will make you completely stink-free, but you’ve got to do what you can to make things smell good for yourself and the other people in the room.
  3. Snacks. Breaks are often short and it’s important to have things on hand that are easy to eat and easy on the stomach. It may not be the most yogaish food, but I’m loving baby Brie cheeses and gluten-free crackers. Many of my fellow teacher trainees come each day with a homemade green drink of some sort. They are clearly more evolved than I am.
  4. A willingness to be uncomfortable. Much of the time I’m physically tired and sore and emotionally drained. There’s a method to the madness, though, as it’s impossible to keep the veneer shiny when you’re spent. But getting back to getting past your own shit, there’s no way to get past it if you don’t let it out. And believe me, it comes out when you’re tired and sore and hungry and at the end of your rope.
One response to “Teacher training essentials

  1. Amy says:

    Sounds like an amazing journey, Leslie. I’m a little envious!

Leave a Reply

