Girl School for Grownups

Like having a big sister, but better because I can't boss you around!

First poem

on April 10, 2016

Writing a poem

Seems so easy.

I used to think that poems had to rhyme

But now I know that they don’t.

So do words just drip from your brain to the page

Or is there something more to it?

My heart knows there’s something more

Some inexpressible quality like that of pixie dust or butterfly kisses

An intangible essence where the heartstrings are gently strummed

By the words as they unfold.

I long to give words to the quixotic moods of my heart

And to have an unknown someone feel

Really feel

What it’s like to be me.

But my keyboard doesn’t have the right keys

And my mind can’t quite conjure the right turn of phrase

To make it all make sense.

Like much of life, perhaps poetry is defined not by its ending

But by the very fact of beginning, of trying

And if I begin and try, again and again

Perhaps I can write with pixie dust and butterfly kisses

Sprinkled among my words.

2 responses to “First poem

  1. Carol Williams says:

    Dear Leslie,

    That is lovely – a very fine start. Are you familiar with the poems of Mary Oliver? I think you might be touched by their simplicity, narrative, visibility, and depth. Love, Aunt Carol >

  2. Kim Toomey says:

    I love this! I used to write poetry in my youth. I loved it and found freedom and release in writing, but as I grew older I criticized my writing and spent far more time worrying about how to make everything perfect. Since I could never measure up to my idea of what perfection was, I gave it up. I ADMIRE your inner spirit and strength Leslie! Keep writing! And keep up the poetry, no matter how imperfect you feel the product is because in the end, it’s always more about the process than the product. And along the way, your personal growth and self discovery is the TRUE GIFT….which you give yourself and pass along to all the family and friends that love you 💗 Kim

Leave a Reply

