Girl School for Grownups

Like having a big sister, but better because I can't boss you around!

It’s been such a long time

on April 10, 2016

Hi friends. Is there anybody out there? It’s been more than a year since I’ve written. Why did I stop? Well it was a whole bunch of things, but the main one is that I fell into a deep depression, and depression lies to you, and what I was hearing inside my head was “you have nothing interesting to say and no right to write.” (I may have perfected the art of self-sabotage here. I always wanted to be really good at stuff. Perhaps I should have specified the kind of stuff!)

So now the depression is under control (new meds, better habits and some time living mostly in the land of ok-ish-ness) and I think it’s time to write again. Writing this is my public line in the sand to help me to follow through and write.

Thanks for listening.

8 responses to “It’s been such a long time

  1. elizabeth sedway says:

    Nice to hear from you.

  2. Ingrid Phippen says:

    Good job Leslie! Glad to see your post.
    Loveu, Ingrid

  3. Sue Galster says:

    I always enjoy reading your writing content and style… you are a gifted writer and I love hearing your perspective on a variety of subjects. Keep writing. You can do it and you are excellent at it!

  4. Gayle says:

    I have missed you! Can’t wait to hear more from you. You are a talented writer. Glad you’re better!

  5. Laurie says:

    Yay! Love to read what you write Leslie!

    xoxo

    Laurie

    >

  6. 1happygrrl says:

    I’d read your grocery lists! So glad you’re putting your fingers to the keyboard again. I look forward to your next post!

  7. Pam says:

    Truly I was just thinking about you not long ago and wondering where you were and how you were. I’m so sorry you’ve been struggling. I wish you’d reached out to us so we could tell you how much we love you, your writing and missed it but I understand how depression works……….how it speaks those hurtful words. I hope you’ll realize how much we care and truly do value you and your thoughts. Your poem was beautiful. Your friend always. Pam

  8. Laurie says:

    I look forward to reading your posts, Leslie! I miss you and am glad you’re back.
    đŸ’›Laurie

Leave a Reply

